Workers Comp Requirements For Sole Proprietors In North Carolina
All employers in North Carolina with three or more employees must carry workers compensation insurance for all of them. This includes minors and undocumented workers. Any business in which one or more employees work around radiation must have coverage, as well. Sole proprietors are exempt from having to get workers comp, however they have the option to get coverage from an insurance company or through an agent.
Learn more at the best workers comp insurance in North Carolina
Sole Proprietor With One Or More Employees
In almost every state, for sole proprietors with employees, workers comp insurance is a legal requirement. But as the exact rules vary from state to state and penalties can be severe, its best to check with your states Department of Labor.
Whats more, if you employ someone who works for you in a different state, you need to comply with that states requirements, too.
The Advantage Of Being Covered
Registering with the WCB and paying Workers’ Compensation insurance premiums are definitely not among most business people’s favorite activities, but they are necessary. Think of what could happen to your business because of even a single judgment for a work-related injury. The WCB insurance programs provide employers with protection, allowing them to pool the risk and share the cost.
Read Also: How To Get Solar Panels
Start With The Basics: General Liability Insurance
If you’re strictly working nights and weekends out of your home, the risk of a lawsuit is fairly low, but it still exists. Look into a sole proprietor insurance policy like general liability insurance for some basic business liability protection.
In addition to the classic slip and fall protection it offers against a third-party bodily injury, general liability insurance also covers:
- Third-party property damage
- Product liability
- Advertising injury
The Cost Of Workers’ Compensation Insurance
The cost of Workers’ Compensation insurance depends upon what industry category your business is in. All the WCBs classify businesses according to the industry in which they operate because it’s assumed that businesses with similar operations share similar risks.
When you first register with the WCB, you have to supply a complete description of your business operations to determine your industry category. The rates for Workers’ Compensation insurance are calculated per $100 of insurable earnings. The Association of Workers’ Compensation Boards of Canada has various statistics on provincial assessment rates and rates by industry classification.
There’s quite a difference in the average premium rates between provinces. In 2018, for instance, Manitoba has the lowest premium rate at $0.95 per $100 of payroll. The second-lowest average assessment rate for 2018 is Alberta, at $1.02.
Meanwhile, at the other end of the scale, Nova Scotia’s 2018 average assessment rate is $2.65, followed by Ontario with an average assessment rate of $2.35.
All WCBs use a performance-based pricing system, which will also affect the cost of your premiums for better or worse. On the positive side, employers who reduce the number of accidents and injuries in their operations pay less. The downside is that employers with a poor accident and injury track records pay higher premiums.
Read Also: Does Granite Come In Solid Colors
Q: I Left My Job To Begin My Own Company As An Independent Contractor
First of all, congratulations on beginning such an exciting journey. Being self-employed is a liberating and rewarding experience, and it takes a lot of work and courage to branch out on your own. That being said, the same journey is one that can be full of challenges and obstacles, and you will be an expert in many fields by the time your business gets its feet on the ground!
Workers compensation insurance is required for employers in Pennsylvania as a means of protecting both employers and employees in the event of a workplace injury or accident. Employees are taken care of medically and financially as they heal, and employers enjoy protection from lawsuits brought by injured employees. Since you are technically your own employer now, wouldnt it stand to reason that you need to carry workers compensation insurance?
Not necessarily, says Pennsylvania. If you have begun your own company and have employees, you will need to carry workers compensation insurance to protect your workers and your business from risk. It sounds as though you are on your own as a sole proprietor, however, so the answer becomes a solid sort of, but not really when you are self-employed with no employees of your own.
How Does Workers Comp Coverage Differ From Liability Coverage
Workers comp only covers you and subcontractors you hire. If a client, customer, or random person is injured at your workplace or job site, general liability insurance will cover it. General liability pays for bodily injury and damage caused by you or a subcontractor to someone elses property.
> > MORE: The Best General Liability Insurance Companies
Recommended Reading: How To Clean Solar Panels On Garden Lights
What Other Coverages Do Sole Proprietors Typically Need
Instead of purchasing workers comp insurance as a stand alone, many sole proprietors find that its cheaper to buy it as an add on to their Business Owners Policy .
Depending on the coverage you choose, a BOP helps protect your business building and property against financial losses related to things like theft, fire, wind, falling objects, and lightning. Its similar to the insurance coverage you have on your home or apartment.
Many one person businesses add some of the following coverages to their BOP:
This is only a small sampling of the business coverages that are available. An online business insurance application system, insurance agent, or insurance company representative can help you identify the coverages your business needs.
Do I Need Insurance As A Sole Proprietorship Business
Its always a good idea to consider purchasing some type of commercial insurance for your sole proprietorship business. Sole proprietors have the same legal responsibilities and liabilities as large corporations. While performing their services, sole proprietors could be subject to various third-party claims or property damage that lead to costly repercussions. In some cases, these costly repercussions could force your small business to shut down.
For example, if a customer falls and gets injured on your premises, they could file a lawsuit citing bodily injury. There will be medical bills, legal fees, and other settlement awards that need to be paid out. If you sell a faulty product that results in a customer getting injured or suffering property damage, you might also be subject to liability and litigation.
Thats why purchasing robust insurance coverage is necessary, even if you dont think youll ever encounter any risks or accidents. ALIGNED can get you fitted with the right sole proprietorship insurance policy to help your business stay protected.
Read Also: How To Read Aps Bill With Solar
Can I Be Contractually Required To Carry Workers Compensation Insurance
Even if youre not legally required to carry a work comp policy in your state, you could be contractually required by a company youre working with.
From the hiring companys standpoint, an independent contractor that gets injured could claim to be an employee, file a workers comp claim, and win. This can vary depending on the nature of the relationship and the legal precedent of your state, but particularly in states that tend to side with employees in work comp cases, companies may require proof of insurance to offset their own liability.
If you run into this situation, you have several options:
- Secure coverage. You may wish to get a work comp policy to cover yourself and show proof of work comp insurance to the company.
- Show proof of insurance. Rather than getting work comp, you might show the company proof of other policies you carry, such as health, life and disability insurance. You might also submit in writing your independent status and that you are waiving the right to work comp coverage. In some cases, this may be sufficient to meet the companys requirements.
- Walk away. Proof of insurance will likely differ on a company-by-company basis, so you might choose to pursue freelance opportunities with other companies or in other markets.
Do I Need Workers’ Compensation If I’m Self
In Pennsylvania, any employer who employs one or more people is required by state law to provide them with workers compensation insurance. But what does the law say about workers’ compensation for the self-employed? If you are self-employed, or a sole proprietor, the state does not require any company to provide you with insurance, nor does it require you to get it for yourself. However, a self-employed person can get workers compensation insurance, but it may or may not be worth pursuing.
Also Check: How Much Does It Cost To Have Solar Panels Cleaned
About Being Illegally Uninsured:
Q: What happens if Im uninsured and an employee is injured?
A: Failing to have workers’ compensation coverage is a criminal offense. Section 3700.5 of the California Labor Code makes it a misdemeanor punishable by either a fine of not less than $10,000 or imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year, or both. Additionally, the state issues penalties of up to $100,000 against illegally uninsured employers.
If an employee gets hurt or sick because of work and you are not insured, you are responsible for paying all bills related to the injury or illness. Contact the information and assistance officer at your local DWC office for further information. You should be aware that workers compensation benefits are only the exclusive remedy for injuries suffered on the job when you are properly insured. If you are illegally uninsured and an employee gets sick or hurt because of work, that employee can file a civil action against you in addition to filing a workers compensation claim.
If you fail to pay required benefits you may also be contacted by the Uninsured Employers’ Benefit Trust Fund.
Q: What is the Uninsured Employers Benefit Trust Fund?
Q: Can I be fined for not carrying workers’ compensation insurance?
Finally, as noted in answer to a previous question, failure to secure workers’ compensation insurance is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in the county jail for up to one year, or by a fine of up to ten thousand dollars or by both that imprisonment and fine.
If You Dont Have Workers Compensation Insurance
The Department of Industrial Accidents Office of Investigations will issue a stop work order to employers who dont have workers compensation insurance.
Minimum fines are $100 per day, including weekends and holidays, beginning on the date the SWO was issued. Fines accrue daily until insurance coverage starts AND the fine is paid.
- If you do not appeal the SWO, your business must close down immediately and remain closed until proof of coverage has been provided to the DIA and the fines have been paid
- If you appeal your SWO, then the fines go up to $250 per day and you business can remain open
Employers issued SWOs may be subject to criminal charges, including up to 1 year in prison and/or up to a $1,500 fine upon conviction.
Uninsured employers are also subject to debarment from public contracts for 3 years.
Don’t Miss: How Does The Solar Credit Work
Rate Setting And Premium Information
The Compensation Rating and Inspection Bureau , an agency in the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance, is responsible for establishing and maintaining regulations and premium rates for workers compensation and employers liability insurance.
You can obtain workers compensation insurance coverage from any of the more than 400 private licensed insurance companies authorized to sell workers compensation policies in New Jersey. You can purchase a policy directly from an insurance carrier, an insurance agent or an insurance broker. For further assistance with obtaining coverage, please contact the NJ Compensation Rating & Inspection Bureau at:
What Type Of Business Insurance Do I Need As A Sole Proprietor
It depends on the type of sole proprietor business you own, your daily operations, and the types of products or services you sell. For example, if you are a consultant, freelancing designer, accountant, web developer, or another type of business that offers specialized advice or services for a fee, professional liability insurance is an important consideration. It ensures you and your business is covered for legal expenses in the event of financial loss due to the negligence, misconduct, or errors you make while providing your services.
Commercial general liability insurance is one of the most common commercial insurance products in the market. Regardless of what type of sole proprietorship business you own or what products or services you sell, its worth the investment to purchase commercial general liability insurance. It protects you and your business against claims of property damage and bodily injury that a third party suffers while on your premises, such as a slip-and-fall accident.
Other types of business insurance options you might consider as a sole proprietor include:
- Cyber liability insurance
- Liquor liability insurance
Don’t Miss: Are Solar Panels Legal In Alabama
State Requirements For Sole Proprietors Workers Compensation
You could be a freelancer, working from home, or an independent contractor working on-site. If you receive a Form 1099 from the people who pay you, youre likely a sole proprietor.
Sole proprietors are typically thought of as lone wolves. However, a sole proprietorship is just a name for the type of business structure. It doesnt mean you dont employ anyone.
And if you do even if its just one person you need workers comp insurance.
You May Want Workers’ Compensation Insurance Even If You Are Exempt
Some industries are exempt from mandatory Workers’ Compensation insurance. In Ontario, computer programmers, private health care practices such as those of doctors and chiropractors, private daycares, travel agencies, photographers, and taxidermy are among the exempt industries. Industries that are exempt in one province may not be in another, so you’ll need to check with your provincial WCB to be sure.
Even if Workers’ Compensation insurance isn’t mandatory for your business, you may still want to purchase it voluntarily. If you’re a contractor, for example, you may find that principals prefer to deal with contractors who have their own Workers’ Compensation insurance, and some companies will insist on proof that you have your own coverage.
When you purchase optional personal Workers’ Compensation insurance coverage, be sure to base the amount you buy on your insurable earnings, as this is the amount that will be used to determine compensation if you do suffer a work-related injury. If you purchase only the bare minimum, you won’t receive enough benefits to replace your lost income.
Recommended Reading: What Kind Of Battery Is Used For Solar Panels
What Is The Sole Proprietor Workers Comp Exemption
In some states, you can get a sole proprietor workers compensation exemption.
A workers comp exemption is a declaration that coverage isnt necessary because there are no employees. In California, for example, you cant get your contractors license renewed unless you have proof of paying workers comp, or a valid sole proprietor workers comp waiver.
To get a workers comp exemption for sole proprietorship, you will have to complete the right form for your state, get the form notarized and usually pay a small fee.
You wont have to pay for workers comp coverage, but they might have to pay out of pocket to cover expenses if you get hurt at work.
Who Must Have Insurance
All employers operating in Massachusetts are required to carry workers compensation insurance for their employees and themselves if they are an employee of their company.
The requirement applies no matter the number of hours worked or the number of employees.
The only exception is for domestic employees who must work at least 16 hours a week to be covered under a workers compensation policy.
Read Also: Is Solar Right For Me
How Workers Compensation Exemptions Work
There are occasions where business ownersâeven workersâare exempt from workersâ compensation benefits. For example, if you own a business with few employees or independent contractors on the roster, you may not be required to provide workersâ comp. A few other individuals may be exempt: LLC members, company partners, corporate officers, and sole proprietors. However, it is always wise to check with your stateâs laws to see what is and isnât required.
If you are a sole proprietor with no employees, you will most likely be exempt from purchasing this insurance. Some states will grant you a sole proprietor workersâ compensation exemption, but every state handles this differently.
It is important to note that there are instances when a client may require workersâ comp. First, it decreases their liability should you be injured while completing work, and second, they may not have the available funds to cover the expense themselves. Also, the State of California can refuse the renewal of a state contractorâs license if you do not have workersâ comp or a sole proprietor workersâ comp waiver. It truly all depends on where and how you are conducting business.
Workers’ Comp For The Self
If you work in a high-risk job, such as one that requires physical labor, you may want to purchase your own workers’ compensation insurance policy. But even freelance writers, for instance, may be asked to carry workers’ comp insurance as a condition of the contract.
Finding a policy for freelancers and other self-employed individuals may prove difficult, though. Large insurers may not see the point in selling such relatively small policies. But private firms that do offer such policies typically base the cost on the type of profession. Additionally, most states also have workers’ compensation funds for those unable to buy a policy on the voluntary market . These include the State Compensation Insurance Fund in California and the Workers’ Compensation Trust Fund in Massachusetts.
Don’t Miss: Is Home Solar Cost Effective